Veröffentlicht am Schreib einen Kommentar

Alcaraz, Sinner, Fils and Struff Take Home ATP 2023 Awards

Additionally, the BNP Paribas Open was named best 1000 level tournament by WTA and ATP players.

By Chris Oddo | @TheFanChild | Friday December 15, 2023

Carlos Alcaraz, Jannik Sinner, Arthur Fils and Jan-Lennard Struff took home hardware for their performances during the 2023 season.

Alcaraz, who won his second major title at Wimbledon, became the youngest player to ever win the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award, which is nominated by journalists and voted on by peers.

The Spaniard receives the award that has been dominated by Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal since 2004, with Federer winning a record 13 and Nadal winning 5. Casper Ruud of Norway won the award last year.

“I’m so happy to win the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. I’m especially happy that it’s an award chosen by my colleagues on the circuit. It means a lot to me, so thank you all very much.”@carlosalcaraz | #ATPAwards

— ATP Tour (@atptour) December 15, 2023

Jannik Sinner took home the Most Improved Player award after recording a career-best 64 wins, winning a maiden Masters 1000 title, and climbing to a career-high ranking of No.4 in the world, which is the highest ranking for an Italian man in the Open Era.

Arthur Fils of France won the Newcomer of the Year award. Fils jumped over 200 spots in the rankings to No.36 in the world, thanks to a few challenger titles in February that ignited his form.

Don’t forget his name 👀 @arthurfils1 is your 2023 Newcomer of the Year 👏 #ATPAwards

Read more 👇

— ATP Tour (@atptour) December 14, 2023

He then reached back to back semifinals at Montpellier and Marseille before claiming his maiden title in Lyon.

Jan-Lennard Struff of Germany won the Comeback Player of the Year Award after overcoming injury to jump from No. 167 to a career-high No. 21. Struff finished the season at 25; the 33-year-old reached finals at Madrid and Stuttgart this year.

The BNP Paribas Open won the award for the best 1000 event of 2023, an honor the tournament has received for nine years running, while Queen’s Club won the best 500-level tournament award and the Swedish Open in Bastad won the best 250 award.

Tournament awards were voted on by ATP and WTA players.

“We are honored to see the ATP and WTA players once again vote Indian Wells as their favorite 1000-level stop of the year,” said Tournament Director Tommy Haas. “This award reflects the dedicated support from all of our wonderful tournament staff, volunteers, fans, and so many others who bring the BNP Paribas Open to life every year and contribute to the sustained success of our one-of-a-kind event.”

The BNP Paribas Open also won the award for best 1000 level event on the WTA Tour (for the tenth consecutive year), while the Credit One Charleston Open won best 500 and Transylvania Open (Cluj-Napoca) won best 250.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert